Telegram update adds auto-delete option for all messages and more

Telegram is updating its messaging app with auto-delete messages, inquiry links, and new unlimited groups, the company’s option Shared in a blog post. Like Signal, Telegram received new users in confusion over WhatsApp’s privacy policy, and now the company is adopting features that were already part of its rivals’ apps, features that provide greater security and privacy She does.

Auto-delete messages were already possible in Telegram’s encrypted secret chat, but this new update for iOS and Android adds the option to make messages disappear in any kind of chat. Auto-delete can be enabled inside the chat, and is set to delete 24 hours or seven days after the message is sent. Auto-delete however will not delete every message; If a message was sent before the facility was turned on, it would stick around. Telegram’s competitors had similar features: WhatsApp introduced a feature in 2020 and messages in the signal disappeared. Since at least 2016.


Messages can be automatically deleted after 24 hours or seven days.
Picture: Telegram

Telegram is also making changes to groups that can allow the of instantaneous, informative audio experiences that have become popular at the clubhouse. The new “broadcast groups” allow for an unlimited number of members, but limit the creation of for group admins so that they can broadcast well. Voice chats, on the other hand, are open to everyone in a broadcast group, and Telegram thinks the feature should be “ideal for large communities where people can follow and catch up with exclusive interviews, news, or simply casual talks” “.

To help keep these groups exclusive (or to make them faster) Telegram is adding end to invite links that are set to expire after a certain number of uses, a set amount of time, or both. Can. With the new invitations, group admissions should be able to be better liberals who add and keep personal subjects a little more private.


A fixed number of uses or expired links after a set period can be set to invoke.
Picture: Telegram

Many users excluded WhatsApp for Telegram out of concern that Facebook would read their messages. Expanding privacy features such as auto-delete is a good way for Telegram to address those concerns. But even with the new privacy options, Telegram still does not universally provide a feature that many users expect – end-to-end encryption.

All messages on Telegram are technically encrypted, but secret chats are only those that can be viewed exclusively on the devices of participating people. This is the difference that Telegram says Enables features such as new broadcast groups, But even with auto-delete it can be a dealbreaker for you.

You can see Full list of new features On Telegram’s blog.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*